Meet your new personal Legal Advocate
Learn more about our Winning Cases
With over 32 Years of Legal Experience
Drunk Driving Lawyer
Certified Field Experts. This is our Specialty!
Being convicted of Drunk Driving is a serious criminal offense. If you or a loved one has been arrested for Drunk Driving in California, you have come to the right place. Regardless of the severity of your Drunk Driving offense, John Karas, has the knowledge and experience to defend you to achieve the best possible case outcome!
The Law Office of John Karas understand the seriousness of a Drunk Driving arrest. As well as, the embarrassment, confusion and stresses that follow during this time in your life . You can relax knowing that you’re protected by a capable, experienced Drunk Driving Lawyer. One who’s fighting your case and helping protect you and your livelihood.
In California, if you are suspected of driving under the influence you can be charged with a criminal DUI. If you are convicted of a DWI, or enter a “guilty” plea, you can face fees in excess of $10,000, loss of your drivers license, time in jail, and/or probation. If you are under the age of 21, with a .08% Blood alcohol level, you will face DUI penalties. In addition to the above, with a criminal DUI conviction, you will be facing 12 hours or more of DUI education class. If your alcohol level is .15 or higher or if this is your second or more offense, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your. Consequently, choosing to consult with an experienced and capable Drunk Driving Lawyer can affect the outcome of your case.
Refuse and Lose
If you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test when requested, your license will be immediately taken away and you will be facing a possible 180 day license suspension. If you consent to a breath or blood test and the result is .08 or greater, you will be facing a possible 90 day suspension. This 180 day suspension is separate from any license suspension you may later face if convicted of a criminal DUI.
If you or one of your attorneys does not ask for an Administrative Licensing Revocation hearing within ten days of the arrest, the Department of Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your license forty days after the date of your arrest. If you do not have a California driver’s license then your right to drive in California will be suspended and it is likely your home state will be notified. Furthermore, your attorney can challenge the suspension at the Administrative Licensing Revocation (ALR) hearing to try and prevent a suspension from taking place. It is extremely important that the ALR hearing is properly requested within ten days of the arrest by either an attorney or the defendant. As a result, if this is not processed in the correct manner a suspension will go into effect 40 days after the arrest.
The main goal of the Drunk Driving Lawyer is to get a complete dismissal of your DUI Case. If for any reason, this is not possible, we will focus on reducing the Drunk Driving charges and decreasing both the financial and criminal penalties of your arrest. In addition, our Drunk Driving Lawyer can represent you at the ALR hearing and increase your chance of keeping your license. Therefore, we can guarantee that if you do not challenge your license suspension, there is 100% chance you will lose your license. So make the right decision and call The Law Office of John Karas today. It’s your best shot.